MediumTall

Looking for fit, form and function

Move over crackberry…. Say hello to iPhone!

with one comment

I finally have put down my crack berry for something that so far has been more addictive and titillating. Last Saturday after 2 weeks of waiting I got the call that my iPhone was in. My wife only had to wait a week for her 16GB white. It appears that the 16GB black are very popular. Overall it is an amazing device. Setting it up forced me to rethink my data management strategy and scrub my address book. We started by switching our email hosting from godaddy (the walmart of domains) to Google Apps (what I thought was Nordstrom until the big outage yesterday). The primary motivator going from POP to IMAP. I can’t believe that I stuck with POP so long. IMAP rocks. I also did some research on security and the first application I installed on my iPhone was 1Password. Previously since the crackberry has a master password I just stored all my passwords in Outlook contacts. Very loose but easy to manage. With the iPhone I did not want to set up a master password to enter every time I turned on the device. One password has an amazing integration with Firefox and Safari and syncs with the iPhone. Excellent solution.
http://blog.craftzine.com/archive/2007/07/knit_iphone.html 
I’ve installed a few other applications such as twitterific, facebook, urbanspoon and pandora. But most of my time with the phone has been email and web browsing. I did test out iPhone access to the home media server. It is very cool to be able to access my recorded programs on my home Mac and watch on the iPhone. I can also add a program to record from the iPhone. 

On the down side I think that the batter could last a little longer. I’ve been turning off the 3G when I’m at home since it automatically uses wifi and 3G just eats extra power. I only turn it on when I need it. The GPS is cool but looking forward to the turn-by-turn navigation for the car. Great to know that it’s just a software upgrade to make it work.

I did have a little hick-up in the plan. During my first week of ownership I spent 3 days working from home and with my job I talk on the phone a lot. So in 6 days I used up about 600 min of our 700 min shared min. My wife used about 100. So with 3 weeks to go we had no more minutes left. I was told at the AT&T store that we can up our point in the contract. So I got on line and got the message that the change would take place in three weeks (start of next billing cycle). So my wife suggested that I call. I got on the phone saturday afternoon, was on hold for about 5 min then talked to a very nice lady who tried to back date my grade. That did not work so I asked what other options we had. She tried a few more thing simultaneously chatting about the weather, where she lived before… I was on the phone for about 10 min and we end up just giving me 1200 rollover minutes to cover me the rest of the month. I was impressed that they were very helpful in putting together a solution that did not totally screw me. AT&T has a bit of a reputation of hating it’s customer in my humble opinion. I’ve been converted and no would recommend that you go get an iPhone and not worry about the service level.


Written by mediumtall

August 12, 2008 at 5:25 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice post. I just glanced through it. Maybe I can really read it later

    http://www.gps-systems.co.cc

    TYMINSKA Karolina

    August 14, 2008 at 5:02 am


Leave a Reply

