MediumTall

Looking for fit, form and function

What’s clogging the pipes?

with one comment

We live in a house that was built in the 1930’s. It’s a great house, we love it. But every once in a while it needs a little TLC. On Monday my wife called me when I was on a business trip to Santa Clara notifying me that the sink in the kitchen was clogged. We’ve live in the house for 7 years and have dealt with a few clogged toilets and a clog in the main drain. The main drain required the super rooter. I just haven’t had any interest in getting a 40 foot drain snake when for the cost of a snake I could get someone to do the work for me.

For some reason the kitchen sink was different. Maybe it’s because it’s food waste rather than the truly stinky stuff. I called Bernie, my handy man engineering buddy, to discuss creative solutions. The first step was a plunger. Push it down…. no go. Then I disconnected the trap to see if the clog was close to the plunger. I drained the sink into two wash tubs. No clog in the trap. Today after work I stopped by the hardware store to pick up a 20′ snake. I think that I got about 10 feet down the pipe. No clog. Pulling the snake back out I noticed that it was pretty greasy. I guess with the oil, butter, cooking grease and other food stuff it gets stuck to the pipes. So much of it not being a gross job.

The next step was heading down to the basement to open up an access pipe. We have an unfinished basement so it is easy to get to the pipes. The cap was rusted shut. So off to the hardware store for some liquid wrench to break up the corrosion. While I was there I picked up a pipe wrench as well. I figured that I would need the leverage. I got home, applied the liquid on the seam and waited. After a while I gave it a go to get the cap off. Even with a hammer it was a no go!

The plumber will be here tomorrow at 7:30AM. What a pain in the ass!

Written by mediumtall

June 26, 2008 at 4:51 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. you are a wonderful man for taking on this little problem!

    silverfilings

    June 26, 2008 at 6:20 am


Leave a Reply

