MediumTall

Looking for fit, form and function

Carefree Commuter Challenge: July 2008

with 2 comments

My office is 25 miles from my home. It takes about 45min for me to drive there in the AM and about 1:10 for me to get home. If I drive during non-peek hours the I can drive each way in about 35min.

My car gets about 27mpg. Gas is about $4.40/gal for plus since I have turbo. It cost me about $8.15 to drove to work and back. If I drive to work 5 times a week for 52 then I’m spending $2,119 just in gas ($176.45/month). This does not take into account maintenance, insurance or other side trips. 

I’ve been trying to work from home about two days a week, with limited success. Not driving two days a week saves me $847.60 or about ($70.63/month). But the amazing thing to note here is that if I work from home two days a week for a year I save my self from sitting in a car for 200 hours per year. (If I drive 5 days a week then it is almost 500 hours per year!) Imagine what I could get done in what in that amount of time! This is the real tipping point for working from home.

Sitting in a car is dead time. There is very few productive and safe things that you can do. I do books on tape and catch up with friends on the phone while I’m pushing the clutch in and out. I take the bus/train when it is convenient. I’m able to use the time to read, work on the computer or just relax and clear my mind. Rarely have I had Mass Transit Rage. 

So July is the Carefree Commuter Challenge. So I plan to step up to the plate and track how often I REALLY drive into work. I’m going to double my efforts to take mass transit if I must go in and try to go into the office a little as possible. I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

Let me know your story with cars. I’d be interested to hear about your relationship with your car and what you might be able to do to reduce your time behind the wheel.

Written by mediumtall

June 26, 2008 at 11:40 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve worked a couple of jobs with 30 mile commutes each way. Fortunately, I had flexible hours with both, so I could avoid traffic. It was still a lot of time in the car. I would listen to talk radio, sermons, go on music kicks, and even tried to learn Spanish from CDs. Regardless, when I got home, I found that I was stressed out from the drive.

    I now work about a 10-minute walk from home. I still drive most days (though have started biking when the weather’s good), but don’t worry about it much. My gas tanks last a couple of weeks and that’s with going out for lunch and even driving to the airport every other week or so. I get home and I’m not stressed from the drive.

    When I interviewed for a job in Seattle about 15 years ago, I told one of the partners that I planned on living out a ways so I could have some property. He said property was great, but life is better. Everyone gets the same number of hours per day. His choice was not to spend them with a long commute. That was his definition of quality of life. Now that I have a short commute, I think his definition makes a lot of sense.

    YMMV. 😉

    blogan

    June 27, 2008 at 2:27 am

  2. Aaron,
    I was very skeptical about working from home and I was not really sure how it would work for me. But, after almost one year of working from home, I think I am really productive and been able to focus and get things done. I guess my motivation to work from home was not commute, but still you should try to work from home twice a week to see how it works out for you.

    Ajay

    Ajay Mungara

    June 27, 2008 at 9:55 pm


Leave a Reply

