MediumTall

Looking for fit, form and function

Taking a break from Firefox

with 3 comments

I need a clean break. I need to start from scratch. My bookmarks and plug-ins are out of control. I need a faster browser. I waited for Firefox 3.0 hoping that it would do the trick. But the pain still lingers. Work is conspiring against me with the new intranet that does not support web standards. Password management is an issue. No google gears yet…WTF?!? Since gears is build into web kit I’m thinking it is time to take on Safari. I exported all my plug-ins as html so I have them if i need them but the goal is to keep the list very light. Only what I need to get things done.

Written by mediumtall

June 3, 2008 at 3:48 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Password management is an issue” – ah yes. I’m currently playing with 1password. It essentially intercepts all the places where I enter passwords and stores them in its own DB. This has the advantage that I can now access those password from any browser on my Mac, choose particular login credentials (you may have many) for any site quite easily, and from my iPhone too. And I think it can sync externally if you have multiple machines. (No, I don’t work for them šŸ™‚ )

    Jon

    June 3, 2008 at 5:51 am

  2. Have you considered Opera? I’m not that familiar with it, but have heard good things. Might be worth looking into before you make a big switch. Would love to hear what you find!

    tacoking

    June 3, 2008 at 4:00 pm

  3. I’m a 1Password user and fan myself. It’s made managing logins much simpler, and has an nifty added wallet feature so you don’t have to worry about remembering CC #’s when doing all that online shopping.

    I also think the RC release of FF is finally stable, and it can only get better from here.

    Lev

    June 3, 2008 at 4:11 pm


Leave a Reply

