MediumTall

Looking for fit, form and function

Free Coffee and Soda… good or bad?

with 6 comments

coffee skull

If coffee and soda were free would you drink more or less?

So the company I work for moved me into the new creative work space. One of the perks of working in the space is free coffee and soda. Does free mean that you consume more or less? Does the perceived value decrease since it economic impact is now zero? Is the quality of the product as important?

What I’ve found for me is I take a sample and taste it before I commit. Since we are collectively responsible for making the coffee (I’ve done it once), the age and quality vary from maker to maker. I have some really week coffee and some insanely strong (even for me). When I was paying for the coffee I assumed that the quality was consistent, but this is sadly not true for our group effort. We already had someone brew gallons onto the floor since the digital read out was malfunctioning.

The second thing that I’ve noticed is that I generally don’t take a full mug. I use a insulated travel mug in the office that I use to keep drinks warm at my desk. Since the cafe was so far from my desk I’d limit my trips but with the new post being VERY close I just take about half a cup. So that I’m always drinking warm coffee.

Over all I do think that I’m drinking more since I’ll go for a refill a few times in the morning.

I have had one half cup of soda to wash down an afternoon snack. I don’t think that I’ll be drinking much since it is Pepsi and I’d rather have coffee vice than a soda vice.

Written by mediumtall

March 25, 2008 at 8:02 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Drink the corporate coffee if you want, but just don’t drink too much of the corporate kool-aid.

    Jeff Moriarty

    March 25, 2008 at 8:50 pm

  2. Mmmm… coffee. Whether you drink the coffee or not, the gesture should not be lost. Try this: http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=9287070

    Walk around with it and sip with a thoughtful look on your face. Be sure to smack your lips and consider it. This will let your overlords know that you appreciate their gift.

    David Stewart

    March 26, 2008 at 5:41 am

  3. Sounds like they need more explicit instructions and measurement devices put up to ensure consistency!

    I worked in an environment with good free coffee for a few years in Amsterdam. I was high for the first 4 months (on caffeine, let me add). After that, I settled down into drinking what I wanted/needed. I always valued that coffee.

    I think good, free coffee is essential.

    Topologically speaking, it makes sense too. Meeting people while queuing to pay is linearly constrained – it’s a queue. There’s awkwardness in yanking out money, juggling that doughnut and mug. And you usually meet only the person in front of you, and perhaps behind. If it’s free, you can form a circle around the coffee. Or a semi-circle, depending on arrangement. Either way, it’s more than two 🙂

    Of course, soda is a rather crude drink and should be banned from the environment altogether.

    Jon Mountjoy

    March 26, 2008 at 10:17 pm

  4. Aaron – Free coffee and soda is an excellent benefit. Whether you drink more or less of it is a personal choice. The fact you get to make that choice is a good sign. I must agree with Jeff though, be wary of the kool-aid. It is not free.

    Bill Pearson

    March 27, 2008 at 4:59 am

  5. Pepsi? Blech. I wouldn’t drink that either. Now if it were Diet Coke…… 😉

    zombiegrrrl

    March 28, 2008 at 12:56 am

  6. Coffee good, soda/pop (depending where you are from) bad. I drink lots of water and like to sweeten it with a splash of pop (I’m from the midwest). This is a good thing but requires some self control. I personally dread the day they start offering free donuts.

    I agree that lip smacking and satisfied looks please the overlords.

    John McHugh

    May 16, 2008 at 2:14 pm


Leave a Reply

