MediumTall

Looking for fit, form and function

Lichen and Moss? not sure but it’s overtaking my grass

with one comment


Lichen and Moss? not sure but it’s overtaking my grass

Originally uploaded by MediumTall

So as you might know we live in Portland, OR. It tends to rain here a lot during the winter. Years ago we put down sod in the front yard and it was lush for the summer into winter. But the last few years I have not been on the water your lawn band wagon. So the grass has been dying a little more each summer. This year the rain has been very persistent, the grass has been wet non-stop for the past 4 months. All that water mixed with the dying grass has led to a field day for the Lichen (or Moss). If thing continue this way I’ll be well on my way to the nastiest lawn on the block. I can’t wait to see all the dandy lions popping up in the spring.

Written by mediumtall

February 15, 2008 at 9:12 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah, this year seems worse than last. Even if you don’t want to fertilize your lawn, you can still get stuff that will kill the moss. Or just break down, fertilize it once with an iron-rich fertilizer, and watch that moss turn a lovely black (hopefully to be replaced with grass).

    My lawn is in the same boat. I’m planning on fertilizing this weekend.

    Brent Logan

    February 15, 2008 at 9:17 pm


Leave a comment