MediumTall

Looking for fit, form and function

An odyssey of the pallet

with one comment


You can’t miss the big neon sign
Originally uploaded by MediumTall

The past week has been CRAZY and really fun. It all started with all the people at the gym. It’s like people a month or so ago woke up hung over and said “I really love going to the gym”. I’d give it another month or so and then the usuals will be back in charge of the place.

I’ve been a member of the Society of Information Management since 2002 and on the board for the past 3 years. It’s a great technical organization that keeps me connected to the local business community, broadens my professional network and teaches me about leadership and technology. The 50ish students from Oregon State University and Portland State toured Nike and Intel during the day and then Intel sponsored a dinner for the students to meet the CIOs and IT Directors that make up most of our membership.

Thursday night was our monthly investment club meeting. It’s been a wild ride for the market this past month if all of our stocks loosing money. For the first time since we started the club over 2 years ago we are in the red on the whole. We have a few winners but the dogs are really pulling us down. We all spent time before the meeting doing research about what we should invest our money in next. I’m excited about a company called ENERSYS (ENS) that makes industrial batteries. Other on my short list are ORCL, RIG, SUEZ, & WFR. Any hot tips would be appreciated.

Thursday was also the due date for my first homework assignment for the software engineering class I’m taking at Portland State University. It great to have a company and team that support my continued education and give me the time and flexibility to take a class from 12:00 to 1:30 every Tuesday and Thursday. It is also great to be interacting with undergraduates. Were we all REALLY that clueless in college. 🙂

Friday I had a big presentation at work for my team to present the quarterly plan. I have been asked to include more and more people in my planning each quarter. It is great to have the additional help and get more ideas and energy and enthusiasm and feedback and criticism and issues and objections and approvals. We finally pulled it all together the presentation went well. A few to do’s but nothing unachievable.

Friday night we hit the pub with old and new friends. Our city has some of the most amazing beer and it tastes even better with great company.

Saturday was the Syracuse University Alumni Pub Crawl “Beermuda Triangle.” We started at 2:00 at Roots then headed over to the Lucky Labrador. I had to go at 5:30 to meet up with friends for dinner. But the club also hit the new Green Dragon brewpubs and the Morrison Hotel Bar. One of the highlights of the craw was ’77 alum Beth Harrington whose documentary on the history of Oregon beer, “Beervana,” aired on Oregon Public Broadcasting (OPB) in November. It was a great way to kick off the pub crawl and break the ice with the 25ish people who drank with us. I’m always impressed with the wide range of ages at our Alumni events. We had a few ’07 and ‘0X’s but we also had plenty of folks from the 60’s, 70’s, & 80s.

Saturday night was all about the dumplings (see photos on flickr). Debra and Bob suggested that we try out a comfort food place on the outskirts of Portland called Tad’s Chicken ‘N Dumplings along the banks of the Sandy River. You can’t miss the big neon sign. It was a very comfortable place that served classic American comfort food delivered in huge portions.

Sunday was all about the fresh powder on Mt. Hood. My buddy picked my up in his rig around 7:00AM and a cup of coffee and a Joe’s donut later we were at the top of Mt. Hood Meadows. The conditions were very good with about 8″ of fresh powder on top of an insanely deep base. Our focus for the day was to be some of the first to lay fresh tracks in Heather Canyon. During many of our runs we swung by the gate to see how the avalanche control was coming along. By noon they had the bowl open and we were ripping it up on the double diamond cliffs of exhilarating soft snow. We stopped off at the Ice Axe house for a late lunch burgers and ice cold brew. I arrived home exhausted and was asleep by 8:00pm.

Life is good!

Written by mediumtall

January 23, 2008 at 3:52 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I need to get around to coming up to the Mountain with you. As far as Tad’s goes, I have mixed feelings. I LOVE the ambiance and charm of the place. The old jukebox and wood paneling everywhere take you back to a time gone by.

    However, the chicken was dry and the dumplings sat in my stomach like a lead weight. In typical Southern style, it was bland and very basic. Of course, I was expecting the same thing when I had shrimp ‘n grits in Charlotte, SC. I was pleasantly surprised. I think the key to these traditional dishes is to make them with rich ingredients, not like you’re still living in the depression.

    I hope to go back and try the fried chicken, but until then my stomach still turns when I think of the huge lump of dumplings I ate.

    —D

    David Stewart

    January 23, 2008 at 7:39 pm


Leave a Reply

