MediumTall

Looking for fit, form and function

how well do you type?

with 4 comments

When I first was learning how to type my parents got us a game called type attack. If was kind of like space invaders but you had to type the letters to kill the progressing alien letters. It was fun but not a very practical way to learn how to type.

During my senior year in high school (after writing many papers with hunting and pecking) I decided that I should take a typing course. It was a half year course and I was the only senior in a class full of freshmen. Looking back on it I would say that it was one of the most productive that taught a very practical skill. I can now type without looking at the keyboard for the most part but really don’t know how fast I type.

In reading my feeds this morning I noticed that LifeHacker posted about an online typing test. It loads quick and gives your real time feedback on how fast you type and how many errors you make. After a few runs I started to averaged between 40-45 with about 1 error per run. Try it out and let me know how you do?

http://www.keybr.com/

Written by mediumtall

January 3, 2008 at 6:35 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I suck at typing copy – that is, looking at something on paper or on the screen, and typing it. So I didn’t do so well on that test – averaged about 44 wpm, I think.

    I’ve never actually taken a keyboarding class in my life (though they were offered when I was in school). But I’ve been banging on a keyboard in one for or another since I was five years old, so I’ve just kind of learned how to do it. When I’m typing something like this, thoughts from my own brain, I usually type pretty fast. 🙂

    Josh Bancroft

    January 3, 2008 at 7:22 pm

  2. I have never taken a typing class and my style is kind of a structured hunt and peck. I also suck at typing copy, my avg. speed was 27-30 wpm with lotsa errors. However, typing without copy is a lot faster for me. I waste a lot of time, especially with this test looking at the copy and then looking down at the keys. I would guess my speed would increase if I was tested with actual words because I could read the entire word and then type it.

    Interesting thing… when I started writing a lot for my job and also doing Fash Actionscripting, my WPM jumped up and I even began to be able to type by feel and not look at the keys. Very cool.

    However, I find that it kind of FREAKS ME OUT. I sit there and wonder how my fingers know where to go. I’ll pause and think, “there is no way I am going to know where THIS key is!” Then I type and I actually type the right key and I pause again and think, “Wow! How did I do that!?” This of course slows down my WPM significantly and moreover distracts me from what I am trying to do. So, I kind of go back and for between typing by feel and looking at the keys. I’ll type by feel just until it starts freaking me out and then look at the keys to keep focused. I know, weird. 🙂

    David

    January 3, 2008 at 10:10 pm

  3. nice, tool – nothing like instant feedback. I was around 35 wpm, but agree that the more I am into the task, the faster I can type.

    Lev

    January 3, 2008 at 10:46 pm

  4. There is no way that tool gives anywhere near an accurate WPM count. The words aren’t even real!!! It is like taking a typing test typing a foreign language. I only came in at 52 and I know I type fast. It is pretty much the best skill that came out of my English degree:-)

    Marci

    January 4, 2008 at 6:26 am


Leave a Reply

