MediumTall

Looking for fit, form and function

Time Shifting

with 7 comments

I have to admit that I’ve not been a very active consumer of home entertainment consumer electronics. I’ve been watching and EyeTVwaiting as digital video recorder, high definition television and flat panel displays become standard fair among my friends and peers. Our VCR died earlier this summer and I we came pretty close to taking the Tivo plunge. But with the cost of the system and the monthly fees it did not make sense to put cash down. Last month’s wired magazine did a story on combo tuner and digital recorder for your computer. The best rated product was the eyeTV hybrid by elgato. I was intrigued and with the cost less than $140 it seemed like the tipping point was near. I made a quick stop at the Apple store (I get a discount through my job) to check it out. One time cost, pause live TV, full preview guide, no monthly fee for PVR, stores file in full and wifi optimized format for playback on our laptops. I’m still at the beginning of using it and I’m sure that I’ll find a few flaws. But so far I’m happy with how it works. 

Written by mediumtall

November 10, 2007 at 10:59 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve been wanting to get this one (and it’s what I would have recommended). Let me know how you like it!

    I’m especially intrigued by the ability to watch over the air HDTV, which all of our local channel broadcast.

    Josh Bancroft

    November 11, 2007 at 12:01 am

  2. Hey Aaron, interesting product. Do you hook your Mac up to your TV via it, or just watch on your mac? Do you need to hook an antenna up, or can it up pick up signal on its own?

    Lev

    November 11, 2007 at 5:23 am

  3. Hey Aaron, that looks like the mac answer to the Windows media center. What software do you use to view/organize the shows?

    Tor

    November 21, 2007 at 1:31 pm

  4. It uses FrontRow, puts a link in iTunes and runs a web server to access them through a browser. But for some reason I’m not able to share video in my iTunes library with another machine. Music works fine but I can’t run the video. I’ve also been hearing a lot about MythTV and must check that out to see what media management options it gives me. Also eyeTV comes with Toast integration so I can easily burn a DVD of a recording or collections of videos. EyeTV also comes with a remote control, but I’m not watch from a couch so I have yet to put in the batteries.

    mediumtall

    November 21, 2007 at 9:45 pm

  5. Hey Aaron-
    As a big TiVO user and devotee, I’m looking forward to your one month report card of eyeTV. It might be the solution for the kid’s playroom where I really don’t want to run a cable and pay for another TV or TiVO box.

    Neil Blecherman

    November 26, 2007 at 7:05 pm

  6. […] at Mt….Three Eyed Toad on Think Geek!JMo on Linus Sings The PoliceNeil Blecherman on Time Shiftingmediumtall on […]

    Got Stuff? « MediumTall

    December 14, 2007 at 7:24 pm

  7. […] for building the lounge was big switch to digital TV. As you might have read we have been watching HDTV on our laptops for the past year or so but most of our TV viewing was done solo. To start I put together a rough […]


Leave a Reply

