MediumTall

Looking for fit, form and function

Life in the fast lane…

with 6 comments

I’m thinking that with the next year or so I’m going need a new car. I’ve had my VW Passat for about 10 years now and it has served us well. For the most part it is still a solid car. Runs great! But there are a few nagging issues that are making me get ready for the next vehicle. It has about 140,000 miles on it and is going to need some major maintenance very soon.Tire

I’m going into the process with a pretty open mind. Thinking about requirements rather than a particular brand, type or features. I’m a little biased toward buying used since I think that I can get a better value, espcially on recient year model vehicles.

Roughly my requirements are fit, economy, utility, function, style. Fit is the most important issue for me. I’m about 6’5″ and really don’t fit comfortably into most cars and even some trucks. So this limits my choices very quickly. Economy is a big decider as well. I work about 25 miles from my home so I’m thinking that it should get about 30+ miles per gallon. Utility would be the ability to haul people and stuff, my current car does not have a big opening for the trunk door, so even thought the space is pretty big it is tough to get things in and out. I’d love to be able to take 4 people ski/camping or 6 people to the orchard. Functional element include safety and traction. All wheel drive would be great but traction control would work as well. Based on my requirements what do you think I should look at? Anyone have a car that they adore that might fit my life.

Written by mediumtall

October 10, 2007 at 1:01 am

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You just described a Subaru Legacy or Outback wagon (or sedan).

    I’m a huge Subaru fan – I drive an 02 WRX wagon, and we’re about to buy an older Legacy or Outback wagon. Lots of room, good economy, safe and practical (the all wheel drive and other technology they use are very high tech, and far beyond most other makes), they hold their value well, and last forever.

    What’s not to love? Besides, you live in Oregon. You’re constitutionally obligated to own a Subaru at some point in your lifetime. 😉

    Josh Bancroft

    October 10, 2007 at 7:00 pm

  2. I like your line “I’m thinking that with the next year or so I’m going need a new car. I’ve had my VW Passat for about 10 years now…”

    I think you should revise by combining those lines to say “I’ve been saying that I’ll get a new car ‘next year’ for about 10 years now.”

    🙂 Just giving you a hard time. You know I’m good for the annual trip to the auto show again this year!

    Jeff Stephens

    October 11, 2007 at 1:32 pm

  3. Josh, Subaru is on the list. As you say, it is required!

    Jeff, you know me all to well. 😉

    mediumtall

    October 12, 2007 at 12:25 am

  4. Ahhh, just one of the many things I love about you, my friend!

    Also, very cool on the invite to Ignite! I’m gonna try and make that.

    Jeff Stephens

    October 12, 2007 at 7:07 pm

  5. We love our Camry. Plenty of space, large trunk, traction control… They have a hybrid version out now, so the gas mileage will be even better than it is today.

    Bill Pearson

    October 15, 2007 at 6:47 pm

  6. i LOVE my Prius..I think I told you. But technically, I think you might be too tall for that car. Then I saw this little Mini Cooper Clubman…dude, it rocks and you can take it to the snow. Unveiled at the Frankfurt Autoshow: http://video.msn.com/?mkt=en-us&tab=c520&vid=4b3d8f1c-765e-4d97-944d-969901295018

    Mary Chang

    October 30, 2007 at 1:28 am


Leave a comment