MediumTall

Looking for fit, form and function

The phone book

with 3 comments

The phone bookIf you are reading this blog then I’m probably preaching to the choir here but I just had to vent. In the past few month I have had three phone books deposited on my front porch (verizon, dex and yellow book). The people who do phone books have quite a racket going on. They sell listings and ads based on how many readers they have, but they give the books away to everyone so it really is not how many readers but how many are dumped on peoples porches. I just dump it right into the recycling bin. What a waste of energy and resources. I wonder how many people do the same thing that I do.

I think that is has been well over 10 years since I used a phone book. If I need to know find a number or address I just use the internet (desktop, laptop or cell phone). The phone book is such a lame ideas. As soon as it goes to print the content’s value starts to die. No updates, no content filters, no dynamic search refinement. Just text listed on a page in alphabetical order.

This got me thinking… do you think that the skill in finding things listed in alphabetical order is dying? I don’t really use that skill anymore. Interesting.

Written by mediumtall

September 27, 2007 at 12:31 am

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mudge and I recycle ours immediately too. They just collect dust and are ONLY useful in the rare instance of our internet is down and we need to look something up.

    I did find them useful when I was traveling. They are good things for hotels when you don’t have your laptop. Beyond that, though, they’re a big waste of resources.

    zombiegrrrl

    September 27, 2007 at 1:42 pm

  2. My wife was just saying the same thing last night. It’s annoying when anyone asks for a phone book. Why not just look the number up online?

    Bill Pearson

    September 27, 2007 at 5:48 pm

  3. maybe we should have kept it for our season tickets to white bird? i might need a boost!

    silverfilings

    October 1, 2007 at 7:30 pm


Leave a Reply

