MediumTall

Looking for fit, form and function

The Police – Thoughts a few days later

with one comment


The Police photo by Digg Doug

The Police Kick Ass! Sting was in the zone. He was built to do this. I would say that his bass playing was much more complicated than the original songs and helped to fill out the sound stage. Stewart was working his ass off. It has been a long time since he’s done this.
Andy was mellow. I don’t think that he did more than just casually walk around. All but Walking on the Moon were tight, well arranged, true to the original. Walking on the Moon had a new syncopated rhythm that made is hard to sing along. For a few songs they down tuned things or slowed down the beat. On the ride home we listened to a Police concert from the 70. They played fast and furious back then. Not so much now.

I’m looking forward to seeing them again next week in Seattle. It will be interesting to see the level of energy they are able to project. We saw them opening night so I’m sure that the adrenaline was pumping. Will it stay that way for the whole tour. We did get another t-shirt and two lanyards at the Vancouver show. I’m thinking that I’ll have to get some more booty at the Seattle show.

I’ve been thinking about it and I hope they don’t make a new album. It would just fuck up a great run. I see this as a nostalgia tour for people like us who want to be young again. It felt really good standing, dancing, signing along and remembering what my life was like when I first heard the songs.

Written by mediumtall

June 1, 2007 at 5:30 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Scair –

    Thanks for your review and the others included here. I am gettin psyched and have 2 months to go before they come to Hartford here. Scrolled your pics – looks like y’all did a bunch of stuff in BC (whats with the all the food pics – although I was impressed with the seafood place). Lookin fwd to catchin up the end of the month.

    Sco-Man

    June 2, 2007 at 1:50 pm


Leave a Reply

