MediumTall

Looking for fit, form and function

Blood, sweat and paint

with 2 comments

The walls of the kitchen were textured yesterday. We are ahead of schedule by a few days, but delays in picking out the new windows might cause a slip later. The space looks great. It is really amazing how smooth uniform walls can make an old space feel crisp and new. Next up is priming and painting before the cabinet go in. This falls on my shoulders for this weekend. Anybody want to help me paint? I’ll buy you lunch. The space is really small. 🙂

I think that I can handle it. My biggest problem is that I might need to go slow since Saturday morning is one of my regular trips to the red cross to give blood. I usually give at work but the last time the blood mobile was on site I had multiple conflicts. So I’m off to their big building on Vancouver Ave after I drop my wife off at the jewelry show on Saturday. Must drink lots of fluids!!!!

Last night was the first night of my work racquetball league. I played in the fall and really got my ass handed to me. I’ve tried to keep going to the courts with friends and focusing on playing smarter, not harder (i’m getting old and need to think about managing by energy. Ha!). So I went into last nights match with a focus on winning. Not just exercising. The first game I lost by two. Not what I was hoping for. R-ball is kind of a head game, if one guy gets ahead of the other and builds up scoring momentum then it becomes tough to catch up. I lost the first few points and never got by head back on straight for the match. I lost. But the second game I decided to come on strong from the get go. Use very strategic ball placement on the servers and hustle on the volleys. I beat the guy 15-0. Like I said, all head game. I think that he felt the match was not winnable at about 8-0. So i won the last few points easily. He was anxious to get into the final match right after I scored 15. So no water break. He just served. I think that my 15-0 really shook him and got him to refocus. The last match was the most intense of the three. We both had our heads in the game. And past the serve and the lead back and forth. Near the end I he matched my 14 points, but then lost the serve. I scored 15. He lost focus and I easily scored the final point.

I sometimes taunt my wife that she married a jock (I’m not jock and could probably become the word weakest man with little effort). I have a few buddies that are very focused on fitness and competitive events. I don’t think that I have the philology, focus or will power to become a jock. But every once in a while I feel the need to compete physically and win. The match last night was proof of it. Maybe I should enter a cycling race, just for the hell of it, to see if the spark is there as well. What do you think? Do I have it inside of me?

Written by mediumtall

May 3, 2007 at 10:29 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. silverfilings

    May 4, 2007 at 3:15 am

  2. Choices, choices, choices. What do you do with them what do you do without them??
    Focus focus focus, What can you do with it? What ever you really want!

    dad

    May 6, 2007 at 4:16 am


Leave a Reply

