MediumTall

Looking for fit, form and function

Work, Eat, Exercise & Sleep

with one comment

I’m just going to vent a little. The “to do” list is getting pretty long and I need to gain some perspective.

My wife and I keep a pretty busy schedule. We have season tickets to a Portland Modern Dance Series. Seem to be always planning the next theme or fund raising party. We both serve on the boards of non-profits and regularly volunteer with other non-profits. I play racquetball weekly and she does yoga. If it’s snowing I try to get up to the mountain and if it’s not I try to get in a few hours on the bike. I really like my job and tend to over extend my commitments (and some times step on some toes) in order to be able to do cool stuff and learn about current technology. I’m currently taking a software engineering class and had to cram in a programing assignment today before I get on a plane to California for a day trip tomorrow.

My wife and I are in the beginning stages of remodeling our kitchen. It’s not very big, about 9’x9′. But the design phase is one of the most stressful. The decisions that you make at this part in the project will be with you for a very long time. We started by thinking that we were going to gut it down to the studs, but as we looks at various design options it appears that it might be simpler. But we need to define the layout, pick out flooring, cabinets, appliances, sink, counters, back splash, wall color, hardware before we can get a final budget. We have walked the isles at a few home improvement centers looking at all kinds of ideas. It is a lot of brainstroming and sometimes it feels a bit like a hurricane in my head.

I like exercising to release stress. When you are cruising down the mountain on skis or doing the hills on a bike you really don’t waste a lot of energy thinking about your to do list. I’d like to do a 100 mile ride in May, but I’ve not been on the bike for a few months and the snow keeps coming so I’m not sure that I’ll be ready for the ride. Also with all the things going on I’m feeling a bit burnt and am not preforming at the level I would like. If your playing any sport you play to win. Last night on the Racquetball court I was starting to fade after the second game. Its funny though the more you do the more you need to do. I’m a compulsive planner. Most of my personal time is booked spending time with my wife and/or friends eating, drinking, taking in a show, skiing, biking, geeking out. I love it, but I feel that I need to take it down a notch to appreciate the quality over the quantity.

Written by mediumtall

February 28, 2007 at 4:59 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Plant two trees and buy a hammock. When the trees are big enough to hold the hammock you’ll be tired enough to use it.

    dad

    May 6, 2007 at 4:26 am


Leave a Reply

